Yoga Philosophy

Yoga postures, or asana, make up just one branch of the tree that is yoga. The Yoga Sutras of Patanjali, reveal an eight limbed path (ashtanga) that provides a structural framework for each of us to reach union with the Divine (samadhi).

Alex offers more than your average yoga teacher by offering yoga philosophy on all eight of the yogic limbs:

1. The Yamas (universal morality) – five abstentions governing how we relate to the external world.
2. The Niyamas (personal observances) – five personal observances governing how we relate to the ourselves.
Together the Yamas and Niyamas provide a spiritual guide for living ethically, in freedom and in peace with ourselves and all around us.
3. Asana – postures to keep the body disease-free, for preserving vital energy and aiding meditation.
4. Pranayama – breathing techniques to measure, control and direct the breath. Pranayama allows us to restore and maintain our energetic lifeforce (prana).
5. Pratyahara – the withdrawal of the senses and letting go of attachments to external objects or distractions to the path of self-realisation and peace.
6. Dharana – Immoveable concentration of the mind upon a physical entity, which cultivates inner perceptual awareness.
7. Dhayana – Steadfast devotion or meditation on the Divine.
8. Samadhi – An experiential state of oneness with the Divine.